6 Replies Latest reply: Jun 3, 2013 8:09 AM by martinls0030 RSS

"Dewey" or don't we?  Genre shelving model makes libraries more usable?

jbeninco New User
Currently Being Moderated

I recently came across this article http://www.libraryjournal.com/article/CA6703842.html?nid=2671&rid and wondered...how many are already shelving by genre rather than Dewey?

How does it work?  What challenges have you found?  What do you suggest to those that are interested?

Alternatively, if you're opposed to this method, why?

• "Dewey" or don't we?  Genre shelving model makes libraries more usable?
    Lynne Hoffman Apprentice

Hi Julia,

You have raised an interesting question.  I volunteer in a middle school library which still uses Dewey.  As an English teacher, I would not be happy seeing Dewey's demise.  In some ways, the library where I work does shelve by genre if you consider Biography, Fiction, Graphic novels, Story Collection, and Easy Readers. 

Even though I prefer tradition, I could see the rationale for arranging Fiction books according to genre:  romance, mystery, horror, science fiction, etc., which would be similar to the organization used in bookstores.  However, I think organizing non-fiction without Dewey would be a nightmare.

I look forward to reading more discussions about your topic.

Lynne

• "Dewey" or don't we?  Genre shelving model makes libraries more usable?
      KFIGGATT New User