17 Replies Latest reply: Sep 12, 2013 1:33 PM by Jane Brown RSS

How do you help your students be independent in your classroom?

Jane Brown Master
Currently Being Moderated

Rather it is troubleshooting technology, classroom management, or enhancing differentiated instruction, we all have strategies that work for us and may help a new teacher.

Please share a tip that you use to help your students be more independent in the classroom.  Thank you.

• Re: How do you help your students be independent in your classroom?
    Kingston Apprentice

I am a middle school technology teacher and treat my students with respect.  Why?  Because students are highly into technology, and they can teach me a few things! So it is a win-win situation.  I teach them, they teach me.

With this concept in mind, my students have a feeling of high esteem and accept their role as a collaborator/facilitator in my computer lab.  With this freedom to explore and share comes the feeling independence to forge forward and enhance the classroom and their peers to where it is a learning community of creativity/collaboration/communication/innovation/critical thinking/problem solving.  Do these concept ring a bell?  You got it...........the 21st Century Skills.

Kingston

Karen Richardson Apprentice

I teach grown ups and I apply the same attitude that Kingston does...I respect the teachers I work with for their knowledge and skills. I may have something to teach them about technology but they always have something to teach me about their classrooms and their kids. We learn together how they can best use the tools to engage and challenge their students and we reflect on how they can integrate the NETS into their practice to make sure they are preparing their students for the future.

Lynne Hoffman Apprentice

Hi Karen,