Currently Being Moderated

Webinar: Using Formative Reading Assessment to Enhance Content Area Learning

tengrrl Posted by tengrrl in Reading & Language Arts on Dec 31, 2012 11:12:43 PM

Join ISTE and NCTE for a free webinar, Using Formative Reading Assessment to Enhance Content Area Learning, presented by Scott Filkins.

scott-webinar.jpg

Drawing on the work in his 2012 NCTE book Beyond Standardized Truth: Improving Teaching and Learning through Inquiry-Based Reading Assessment, Scott Filkins will share practical tools to gather information about students as readers and instructional responses that promote increased understanding of subject matter. Scott will be joined by Cara Gutzmer, a middle school instructional coach who has also worked with teachers from a variety of STEM disciplines to elevate learning by enhancing the assessment-instruction connection.

 

Date: Tuesday, January 8, 2013

Time: 2 pm Pacific/ 3 pm Mountain/ 4 pm Central/ 5 pm Eastern (duration 1 hour)

Register now to join us!

 

More about the speaker
Scott Filkins has worked as an educator in the Champaign Unit 4 schools in a variety of roles, including English teacher and department chair, reading teacher, instructional coach, and (currently) curriculum coordinator for English language arts and social studies, grades 6-12. Scott also co-directs the University of Illinois Writing Project and is a doctoral student at Illinois in curriculum and instruction, with a focus on language and literacy and writing studies.

 

Scott worked at the National Council of Teachers of English on the ReadWriteThink.org project and currently serves on the ReadWriteThink advisory board for the International Reading Association. He is the author of Beyond Standardized Truth: Improving Teaching and Learning through Inquiry-Based Reading Assessment (NCTE).

 

If you have feedback or questions about ReadWriteThink, all you have to do is contact us.

Comments

Filter Blog

By author: By date:
By tag: