Check this site for activities in Florida.


Florida’s Common Core State Standards (represented as CCSS) Implementation Timeline


There will be full implementation of CCSS for all content areas in Kindergarten in the 2011-2012 school year. Grade 1 will be included in 2012-2013, Grade 2 in 2013-2014, Grades 3 through 12 in 2014-2015. To support the transition to the CCSS, blended instruction of CCSS with Next Generation Sunshine State Standards (represented as NGSSS) in grades 3 through 12 in the 2013-2014 school year. Beginning in the 2011-2012 school year, there will be full implementation of content area literacy standards including text complexity, quality and range in all grades K through 12 implementation of CCSS Literacy Standards in History/Social Studies, Science, and Technical Subjects in grades 6 through 12.


The last year that the NGSSS will be assessed using FCAT 2.0 will in the 2013-2014 school year.


Reposted FLDOE

Jeanne Rogers

FCAT Writes

Posted by Jeanne Rogers Feb 19, 2012

The FCAT Writes test will be on February 28th.  Students across Florida will be participating in "dry run" days to be sure students know what testing rooms to go to and to be sure the schedule has no issues.  There are a variety of ways to offer students reminders.  Signs posted to "get a good night's sleep" and "eat a good breakfast" will be around the school.  We'll be broadcasting a few videos that we recently found on YouTube after the morning use. One video for older students is FCAT Video-Author's Purpose and here's one on Main Idea for Primary.

Filter Blog

By date:
By tag: